Board of Trustees

2017-18 Officers

Harvey Freishtat, President
Fredric Leif, Finance Chair
Ellis Morris, Development Chair

Jerald Korn, Committee on Trustees Chair
TBA, Clerk and Communications Liaison


Rabbi Daniel Berman
Robert Finkel, Strategic Facilities Chair
Ben Jabbawy '00
Danielle Remis Hackel, Strategic Planning Chair
Roger Klein, Investment Chair
Esty Lobovits '90
Joshua Margolis '80,
Head of School Support and Evaluation Chair

Rick Melvoin
Lori Polachek
Sandy Remz
Chen Schor
Rachel Jablonka Sohn, Parent Association Co-Chair 
Abby Sosland
Ari Sussman '92
Lauri Union, Immediate Past President
Bil Zarch

Ex Officio (Past Presidents)

Deborah Astor
Michael Bohnen
Jonathan Chiel
Neal Farber
Harvey Freishtat
Shira Goodman
Carol Killian
Alan Lobovits
Steven Meyer
Yael Miller
Bernie Pucker
Arlene Remz
Deborah Cogen Swartz
Andria Weil


"Everything I wanted for my children I found at Schechter. It’s a real community, a family.
The teachers know my kids and the education is inspiring and rigorous, incremental and age-appropriate." - Schechter parent

Learn more about our program 





"Schechter provides an atmosphere for our children to excel in academics, learn how to learn, become englightened Jews and become better citizens of the world." -  Schechter parent
Gan Shelanu
125 Wells Avenue, Newton, MA 02459
P: 617-796-5500
F: 617-796-5571
Shaller Campus - Lower School
Gosman Building
60 Stein Circle, Newton, MA 02459
P: 617-964-7765 F: 617-964-8693
Shoolman Campus – Upper School
Marcus Building
125 Wells Avenue, Newton, MA 02459
P: 617-928-9100 F: 617-964-9401

Copyright © 2013 Solomon Schechter Day School of Greater Boston